Practice Area: Corporate + Transactional

Practice Chair: Michelle LaLonde

Corporate + Transactional

James Bates enjoys a dynamic and sophisticated corporate and transactional practice. Our attorneys regularly counsel clients, negotiate, document, and close complex business acquisitions, draft a variety of corporate and contractual agreements, and develop creative solutions to business and transactional issues.

Our Corporate and Transactional Group handles a wide variety of corporate matters, including general corporate advice; shareholder representation; asset purchases; stock purchases; mergers; partnership issues and agreements; employment agreements; letters of intent; secured transactions; ancillary real estate issues; taxation; and tax-deferred exchanges.

Our attorneys frequently assist clients in the organization and operation of corporations, limited liability companies, partnerships and other business entities, and in the preparation of organizational documents, bylaws, operating agreements, subscription agreements, employment agreements, and confidentiality and noncompetition agreements.

Our attorneys are experienced with all major issues that arise in structuring and negotiating acquisitions. We are also intimately familiar with corporate governance and choice-of-entity issues that impact many of our business clients. We strive to handle our clients’ corporate and transactional matters in a timely, businesslike manner, with an emphasis on efficiency and creativity.

Corporate + Transactional Attorneys

Name Phone Number Email Practice Areas
Taylor Alig
Associate
478.749.9912 TAlig@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Tax + Wealth Planning
  • Estate Planning
  • Corporate + Transactional
Andrew T. Barksdale
Associate
404.844.2768 ABarksdale@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Corporate + Transactional
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Healthcare
W. Carter Bates III
Partner
478.749.9906 CBates@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Tax Law
  • Business Law
  • Tax + Wealth Planning
  • Asset Protection Planning
  • Corporate + Transactional
  • Tax-Exempt Organizations
  • Churches + Religious Organizations
William L. Bennett
Associate
478.336.5513 WBennett@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Tax + Wealth Planning
  • Estate & Asset Protection Planning
  • Trust Modification
  • Charitable Planning
  • Corporate + Transactional
T. Daniel Brannan
Partner
404.997.6023 DBrannan@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Banking + Financial Institutions
  • Corporate + Transactional
  • Real Estate
  • Churches + Religious Organizations
Mark A. Buckland
Associate
478.749.9928 MBuckland@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Corporate + Transactional
  • Business Litigation
  • Asset Protection
  • Business Planning
  • Real Estate
Mary Frances Dennis
Associate
404.978.7768 MDennis@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Corporate + Transactional
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
Taylor S. Eisenhauer
Associate
404.978.7807 TEisenhauer@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Corporate + Transactional
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Technology
  • Churches + Religious Organizations
Chason L. Harrison, Jr.
Partner
404.997.7504 CHarrison@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Corporate + Transactional
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
Walker W. Kinney
Associate
404.977.7512 WKinney@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Corporate + Transactional
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
Michelle LaLonde
Partner
404.997.7510 MLalonde@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • General Corporate Business Law Agreements
  • Licensing and Distribution Agreements
  • Gift Tax Planning
  • Estate Planning
  • Wills and Trusts
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Tax + Wealth Planning
  • Corporate + Transactional
  • Healthcare
Hays B McQueen
Partner
478.749.9915 HMcqueen@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Corporate + Transactional
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Public Finance
  • Business Planning
  • Asset Protection
Jonathan O. Nwiloh, Jr.
Associate
404.978.7804 JNwiloh@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Tax + Wealth Planning
  • Corporate + Transactional
  • Estate & Asset Protection Planning
Morgan S. Ownbey
Associate
404.997.6029 MOwnbey@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Corporate + Transactional
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Banking + Financial Institutions
Sara Kate Rumsey
Partner
404.997.7516 SKRumsey@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Banking + Financial Institutions
  • Real Estate
  • Corporate + Transactional
Andrew G. Smith
Associate
404.844.2764 ASmith@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Corporate + Transactional
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
Joshua J. Ware
Associate
478.336.5510 JWare@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Corporate + Transactional
  • Probate & Estate Planning
  • Wills and Trusts
  • Tax + Wealth Planning
Michael N. White
Partner
706.215.8323 MWhite@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Banking + Financial Institutions
  • Securities Law
  • Mergers and Acquisitions
  • Corporate + Transactional
  • Litigation
  • Creditors' Rights + Bankruptcy
  • Real Estate
  • Commercial Law
Erin S. Woodside
Associate
706.215.8325 EWoodside@JamesBatesLLP.com
  • Banking + Financial Institutions
  • Corporate + Transactional
  • Creditors' Rights + Bankruptcy
  • Tax + Wealth Planning
< Back to Practice Areas